Monthly Archives: July 2008

The Torso, by Helene Tursten

The Torso A woman walking her dog along the beach makes the grim discovery of a rotting human torso inside a black refuse sack. Inspector Irene Huss of the Goteborg police is assigned the case. As in the previous book, … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Crime fiction, Eurocrime, Europe, Police procedural, Series, Sweden, Translated | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Echoes from the Dead, by Johan Theorin

Echoes from the Dead Johan Theorin's brilliant first novel, ECHOES FROM THE DEAD, was first published in Sweden, where it won the Best First Mystery Novel by the Swedish Academy of Crime in 2007. On finishing the book, I can … Continue reading

Posted in Award winner, Books, Crime fiction, Debut, Eurocrime, Europe, Police procedural, Psychology, Series, Sweden, Thriller, Translated | Tagged , | Leave a comment

The Dirty Secrets Club, by Meg Gardiner

The Dirty Secrets Club   What's behind the double deaths?The Dirty Secrets ClubBy Meg GardinerDutton. 368 pp. $24.95 Reviewed by Maxine Clarke Imagine being a rich, successful person, top of your game in sports, medicine, television or the law. But … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Crime fiction, England, Forensics, North America, Private investigator, Series, Thriller, USA | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Score, by Faye Flam

The Score: How The Quest For Sex Has Shaped The Modern Man The Score: How the Quest for Sex Has Shaped the Modern ManBy Faye FlamAvery. 224 pp. $24.95 Reviewed by Maxine Clarke What do pickup artists reveal about the … Continue reading

Posted in Books, North America, USA | Tagged | Leave a comment

Through the ruins of midnight, by Colin Campbell

Through the Ruins of Midnight A fast-paced, strong police-procedural in the tradition of Ed McBain or Peter Turnbull, Colin Campbell's first novel THROUGH THE RUINS OF MIDNIGHT slips down a treat. The plot framework is simple, covering the events of … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Crime fiction, England, Eurocrime, Europe, Police procedural, Social comment | Tagged , , | Leave a comment